Menu | Content | Back | News | Progression | Search | Foot page | Accessibility | Site map | Home page


                      
                      
Home « Research « Key themes « Archives - Les axes 2014-2017 « Theme 3 – The exploration of new patterns to represent and analyse space and time dynamics

Theme 3 – The exploration of new patterns to represent and analyse space and time dynamics

Multi-scaled and dynamic patterns are at the heart of studies concerning this line of research. These works benefit from spectacular progress over the past few years in the fields of information systems and geographical databases (data intelligence, knowledge systems), of statistics (multi-level analysis, contextual effects), of computer science (agent-based platforms, parallel processing, genetic algorithms) and of complex systems (concepts of emergence, of self-organisation, of interactions between micro and macro levels).

The studies are carried out in close interaction with lines of research dealing with urban spaces and systems of cities. From a formal point of view, we can distinguish three types of studies, whether they concern patterns or dynamic mapping.

The first body of works deals with methodological and conceptual transfers based on the needs which emanate from other fields.
We explore theoretical concepts and innovative methods which have not yet been frequently used in geography, in order to study their heuristic impact for questions that arise from thematic fields (the origin of city inequalities, the dynamics of settlement systems, the effects of intertwined mobilities with various temporalities on the regeneration of urban spaces, forms of interurban and international differentiations, the evolution of material and immaterial flows). Moreover, we integrate the dimension of representations (in the sense of perception) which are made (mental maps for example). Particular attention is paid to the different geographical levels at stake and to forms of integration between different levels of decision, between individuals, stakeholders and territories.

A second approach rests on the dialogue between the theories of social sciences and sciences of complexity.
The goal is to shift from an approach in terms of transfer in order to bring the attention on the interactions between different theoretical families which emerge from geography, other social sciences as well as formal sciences. The way to do so is to develop new links between the three fields that structure our studies: the theoretical field (evolutionary theory of cities, theory of social justice, etc); the empirical field (especially with works on population, cities, schools, health); the field of models (Simpop models, model of school segregation, multi and inter-level statistical models linked to health, Markov chains, processes of optimum aggregation of very large-sized graphs, creation of synthetic agent populations, etc).

The third approach consists in developing this theory-model-empiric dialogue at the level of space and time databases.
Two types of studies are in progress. The first concerns the construction of scalable databases which are coherent in terms of theory and which are adapted to computer and statistic models (reflection on entities, their properties, the relationships between them, their dynamics; reflections on models which allows us to create these entities). The second deals with the treatment and representation of space and time data on a cartography with the development of adapted environments. New technologies and data masses, whether they are based on observations or simulations, lead us to renew the reflection in this domain. The issue is to combine formal developments and the developments of methodology and computer tools.

The third axis builds on a series of interdisciplinary groups and research projects:
the Cartomouv group studies the links between practices of representation (dynamic maps) and change processes (cartographers and geomatics specialists);
• the Dyxi-Sysco2 group develops a platform with multiple points of view to compare models on school inequalities which are issued from various disciplines (with sociologists, economists and computer engineers);
the European Research Council Project “Geodivercity” develops models which represent the dynamics of systems of cities in different parts of the world (Europe, United-States, India, China, Russia, Brazil, South Africa) (with computer engineers from the Ile-de-France Institute of Complex Systems).
the HyperCarte group deals with the conception and implementation of environments of spatial analysis and of interactive mapping that integrate the multi-scalar dimension of spaces (with computer engineers);
the National Research Agency Project “Harmonie-cités”;
the RelatHealth group develops a relational and multi-scalar approach of place effects on health (with social epidemiologists);
the National Research Agency Project “TransMonDyn” models important transitions in the evolution of systems of population at different time and space scales (with archeologists, linguists, computer engineers, economists, ecologists, philosophers);
the MIRO2 group
the National Research Agency Project “Geomediamapper” analyses the relationships between countries and the representations that are made based on RSS feeds of an international sample of newspapers (with computer engineers and media experts).

Persons in charge: Joël Boulier, Lena Sanders

Updated on : 14 January 2016

 
 

Géographie-cités 2011, All rights reserved

Menu | Contenu | Retour | Actualités | Progression | Rechercher | Pied de page | Accessibilité | Plan du site | Accueil


                      
                      
Accueil « Recherche « Axes de recherche « Axe 3 – Exploration de nouvelles modélisations pour représenter et analyser les dynamiques spatio-temporelles

Axe 3 – Exploration de nouvelles modélisations pour représenter et analyser les dynamiques spatio-temporelles

La modélisation dynamique et multi-échelle est au cœur des travaux de cet axe. Ces derniers bénéficient des avancées spectaculaires de ces dernières années dans les domaines des systèmes d’information et des bases de données géographiques (intelligence des données, systèmes de connaissance), de la statistique (analyse multi-niveau, effets de contexte), de l’informatique (plateformes multi-agents, calcul parallèle, algorithmes génétiques) et des systèmes complexes (concepts d’émergence, d’auto-organisation, interactions entre niveaux micro et macro).

Les recherches sont menées en étroite interaction avec les axes portant sur les espaces urbains et les systèmes de villes. D’un point de vue formel, on peut distinguer trois types de travaux, qu’il s’agisse de modélisation ou de cartographie dynamique.

Le premier ensemble de travaux relève du transfert méthodologique et conceptuel en fonction des besoins qui émanent des autres axes.
Il s’agit d’explorer des concepts théoriques et des méthodes innovantes, encore peu utilisés en géographie, afin d’en étudier la portée heuristique pour des questionnements émanant des axes thématiques (genèse des inégalités intraurbaines, dynamique des systèmes de peuplement, effets de l’imbrication de mobilités aux temporalités variées sur les recompositions des espaces urbains, forme des différenciations interurbaines et internationales, évolution des flux matériels et immatériels). Il s’agit aussi d’intégrer la dimension des représentations (au sens perception) qui en sont faites (cartes mentales par exemple). Une attention particulière est portée aux différents échelons géographiques en jeu et aux formes d’intégration entre différents niveaux de décisions, des individus aux acteurs et aux territoires.

Une deuxième voie repose sur le dialogue entre les théories des sciences sociales et les sciences de la complexité.
L’objectif est de s’écarter d’une approche en termes de transfert pour porter l’attention sur les interactions entre différentes familles théoriques émanant aussi bien de la géographie, des autres sciences sociales, que des sciences formelles. Le moyen consiste à développer de nouvelles articulations entre les trois domaines qui structurent nos travaux : le domaine théorique (théorie évolutive des villes, théorie de justice sociale, etc.) ; le domaine empirique (avec notamment les travaux sur le peuplement, les villes, le scolaire, la santé) ; le domaine des modèles (famille des modèles SimPop, modèle de ségrégation scolaire, modèles statistiques multi et inter-niveaux en relation avec la santé, chaînes de Markov, procédures d’agrégation optimale de graphes de très grande taille, génération de populations synthétiques d’agents etc.).

Une troisième voie consiste à décliner ce dialogue théorie-modèle-empirie au niveau des données spatio-temporelles.
Deux types de travaux sont en cours. Il s’agit d’une part de construire des bases de données évolutives, cohérentes du point de vue théorique et adaptées aux modèles informatiques et statistiques (réflexion sur les entités, leurs propriétés, les relations qu’elles entretiennent, leurs dynamiques ; réflexion sur les modèles permettant de construire ces entités). Il s’agit d’autre part de traiter et représenter cartographiquement des données spatio-temporelles, avec le développement d’environnements adaptés. Les nouvelles technologies et masses de données, qu’elles soient issues d’observations ou de simulations, amènent à renouveler la réflexion dans ce domaine. L’enjeu est d’allier développement formels et développements d’outils méthodologiques et informatiques.

L’axe 3 prend s’appuie sur une série de groupes et projets de recherche interdisciplinaires :
le groupe Cartomouv étudie les liens entre pratiques de représentation (cartes dynamiques) et processus de changement (cartographes et géomaticiens) ;
• le groupe Dyxi-Sysco2 développe une plate-forme multi-points de vue pour comparer des modèles sur les inégalités scolaires émanant de différentes disciplines (avec des sociologues, des économistes et des informaticiens) ;
l’ERC Geodivercity développe des modèles simulant la dynamique des systèmes de villes en différentes régions du monde (Europe, Etats-Unis, Inde, Chine, Russie, Brésil, Afrique du sud) (avec des informaticiens de l’Institut des Systèmes Complexes de Paris-Île-de-France).
le groupe HyperCarte porte sur la conception et la mise en œuvre d’environnements d’analyse spatiale et de cartographie interactive intégrant la dimension multiscalaire des espaces (avec des informaticiens) ;
l’ANR Harmonie-cités
le projet RelatHealth développe une approche relationnelle et multiscalaire des effets de lieu (ou de contexte) sur la santé (avec des épidémiologistes) ;
l’ANR TransMonDyn modélise les grandes transitions dans l’évolution des systèmes de peuplement à différentes échelles de temps et d’espace (avec des archéologues, linguistes, informaticiens, économistes, écologues, philosophes) ;
le groupe MIRO2
l’ANR Geomediamapper analyse les relations entre pays et les représentations qui en sont faites sur la base des flux RSS d’un échantillon mondial de journaux (avec des informaticiens et des spécialistes des médias).

Responsables : Joël Boulier, Lena Sanders

Equipe P.A.R.I.S

Date de mise à jour : 14 janvier 2016

 
 

Géographie-cités 2011, Tous droits réservés