Menu | Content | Back | News | Progression | Search | Foot page | Accessibility | Site map | Home page


                      
                      
Home « Research « Key themes « Archives - Les axes 2014-2017 « Theme 7 – Situated Knowledge

Theme 7 – Situated Knowledge

This research aims at linking a historical approach and an epistemological approach of situated knowledge. By shifting the questioning from geography to the knowledge of space, we wish to go beyond a disciplinary survey to implement an approach that focuses on circulations between actors, from the scientific field or from other fields, and between the different registers of geographical knowledge. The formulation in terms of situation is different from the “contextual” approach, which makes the context a determining factor for the action and frequently suggests a broad and relatively rigid definition. On the contrary, we wish to take into account the interactions between the conditions for understanding and the agent, and to consequently integrate the variability of the actor’s positions according to particular situations.

Two orientations will be favored in the analysis of a series of situations:

On the one hand, an analysis of the concrete conditions of the relationship between knowledge and power, which are renewed through the analysis of professional practices. The issue of administrative knowledge in the framework of long-term land use planning policies is linked to the role of the knowledge of space within big institutions often labeled today as public service rather than territorial service. The study of the use of maps, during the printing revolution, aims at shedding light on the dissemination processes in parallel to the changes in users’ practices – including geographers – that go as far as modifying the nature of the professions using them. We investigate the opposition between the personal and the “made-up” reactions of geographers when facing ethical issues during their research as well as the norms related to their profession (“ethical injunction”).

On the other hand, an analysis of the networks and of the circulation of knowledge. The exploration of modern geography is pursued by evaluating the scale of its re-inclusion in scholar networks and in epistemological perspectives that are increasingly interdisciplinary and international. This gives us the opportunity to question the interdependencies between the scientific sphere and the spheres of the action. The studies implemented in the context of this axis also explore the question of transmissions at school, from geography classes to more specialized curriculums, both from the point of view of the composition of the programs and of the didactical implementation of essential issues such as sustainable development or Europe, which portray the strain between education and teaching, or even the dissemination of Geographical Information Systems in secondary education programs which encourages the construction of new relationships to space. In a colonial situation, our studies insist on the circulation of geographical knowledge between the scholar, economic and political worlds, by articulating the colonial, imperial and trans-imperial dimensions of actors. The relationship between spatial and judicial knowledge in the context of practices of territorial appropriation in a colonial situation will also be explored.

Reformulating this line of research according to previous years confirms and points out the emphasis placed on the relationship between geographical knowledge and practices. This relationship is questioned as it is central to the definition of the concept of spatiality, and as it consequently contributes to the understanding of processes of production of spaces in the past as well as in the present.

Persons in charge: Florence Deprest, Nicolas Verdier

Updated on : 6 May 2015

 
 

Géographie-cités 2011, All rights reserved

Menu | Contenu | Retour | Actualités | Progression | Rechercher | Pied de page | Accessibilité | Plan du site | Accueil


                      
                      
Accueil « Recherche « Axes de recherche « Axe 7 - Savoirs de l’espace en situation

Axe 7 - Savoirs de l’espace en situation

Cet axe de recherche a pour ambition d’articuler une approche historique et épistémologique des savoirs de l’espace en situation. En déplaçant le questionnement de « la » géographie vers les savoirs de l’espace, on vise à dépasser l’enquête disciplinaire au profit d’une approche qui met l’accent sur les circulations opérées par une multiplicité d’acteurs, issus du champ scientifique ou extérieurs à lui, entre les différents registres de connaissance géographique. La formulation en terme de situation se distingue de l’approche « contextuelle » qui fait du contexte le déterminant de l’action et en propose le plus souvent une définition surplombante et relativement rigide. Au contraire, il s’agit de prendre en compte les interrelations entre les conditions de la compréhension et l’agent, et d’intégrer ainsi la variabilité des positions de l’acteur en fonction des situations particulières.

Deux directions de la recherche conjointes seront privilégiées dans l’analyse d’une série de situations :

l’analyse des conditions concrètes de la relation entre savoir et pouvoir, qui sont mises au jour par l’analyse des pratiques professionnelles. La question des savoirs administratifs dans le cadre de politiques d’aménagement de long terme permet d’appréhender le rôle des savoirs de l’espace à l’intérieur de grandes institutions souvent décrites aujourd’hui sous le vocable de service public, et non de service territorial. L’examen des usages de la carte au moment où celle-ci se diffuse, lors de la révolution de l’imprimé vise à mettre en lumière les processus de diffusion en même temps que changent les pratiques des usagers – dont les géographes –, allant jusqu’à modifier la nature des professions qui l’utilisent. Nous analysons la mise en tension entre les réponses personnelles et « bricolées » des géographes face aux enjeux éthiques dans le vif de la recherche et les normes relatives à la pratique de leur métier (« l’injonction éthique ») ;

l’analyse des réseaux et des circulations des savoirs. L’exploration de la géographie la plus contemporaine est poursuivie en évaluant l’ampleur de sa réinscription dans des réseaux savants et des perspectives épistémologiques, de plus en plus interdisciplinaires et internationaux. C’est l’occasion d’interroger les interdépendances entre sphère scientifique et sphères de l’action. Les travaux mis en œuvre dans le cadre de cet axe explorent également la question des transmissions dans le cadre scolaire, depuis la discipline géographique vers les enseignés, tant du point de vue de la composition des programmes que de la mise en œuvre didactique de questions vives comme le développement durable ou l’Europe qui porte une tension entre éducation et enseignement, ou la diffusion des SIG dans le secondaire qui participe de la construction de nouveaux rapports à l’espace. En situation coloniale, nos travaux insistent sur les circulations de savoirs géographiques entre monde savant, économique et politique, en articulant les dimensions coloniale, impériale et transimpériale des réseaux d’acteurs. Les relations entre savoirs spatiaux et savoirs juridiques dans le contexte des pratiques d’appropriations territoriales en situation coloniale seront également explorées.

Cette reformulation de l’axe par rapport aux années passées confirme et précise l’accent mis sur la relation entre savoirs géographiques et pratiques. Cette relation est interrogée en tant qu’elle est centrale de la définition du concept de spatialité, et qu’à ce titre, elle contribue à la compréhension des processus de production des espaces du passé comme du présent.

Responsables : Florence Deprest, Nicolas Verdier

Equipe E.H.GO

Date de mise à jour : 6 mai 2015

 
 

Géographie-cités 2011, Tous droits réservés